Recent Events :

1) Osmania Graduate’s Association in collaboration with Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA) organized a seminar on “Reservation for Inclusive Growth” in October, 2010, at the Golden Jubilee Hall, Exhibition Grounds, Hyderabad. Justice Sri M.N.Rao, Chairman, National Commission for Backward Classes, the Chief Guest, Delivered the inaugural address.

Sri N.Gopalakrishna, IAS (Retd.) Chairman, IIPA – A.P. Regional Branch, presided over the function.

Sri S.Padmarao, President , O.G.A. gave the welcome address.

The other speakers were Sri K.N.Kumar, IAS. Dy.Director General, NIRD, Hyderabad and Dr. K.Srinivas, Editor, Andhra Jyothi, Hyderabad.

2) The O.G.A. organized an elegant ceremony on 30th April, 2011 at the Golden Jubilee Hall, Exhibition Grounds, Hyderabad, to felicitate the recipients of the State Best Teacher Awards from O.G.A. and Colleges, the winners of the OGA Platinum Jubilee Gold Medals and the O.G.A. Platinum Jubilee Rolling Shields.

Recipients of the Best Teacher Award – Dr. B. Vani, Reader in Sanskrit, S.N.Vanita Maha Vidyalaya, Hyderabad, Dr.T.Malla Reddy, reader in Telugu, Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy College, Bhongir and Dr. Uma Chitra, H.O.D. Dietetics and Nutrition, Kasturba Gandhi Degree P.G.College for women, Secunderabad, were honored by Sri B.Madhava Reddy, Vice President, Exhibition Society, who was the Chief Guest for the function.

Toppers in various P.G. Courses of the O.G.A. Colleges were also awarded Gold Medals along with cash prizes on this occasion. S.N. Vanitha Maha Vidyalaya Created a record of sorts by bagging Gold Medals for all the seven P.G. Courses by it – namely M.B.A., M.A.(English), M.Com, M.Sc.(Botany), M.Sc.(Chemistry), M.Sc.(Physics), M.Sc.(Zoology). It also stole the honors for bagging the highest number of Gold Medals amongst the O.G.A. Colleges.

The recipients of the Gold Medals are :
B.Shirley Avanthi, M.A.(English)
Tanveer Fatma, M.Com
Shaista Anjum, M.B.A.
N.Arun Kumar, M.Sc.(Physics)
Asna Shaheen, M.Sc.(Org. Chem)
Sindom Ramya, M.Sc.(Zoology)
P.Lavanya, M.Sc(Botany).

Winners of the other Gold Medals are :
Ms. M. Sri Vani – M.Sc.(Computer Science), Kasthurba Degree & PG College for Women
Ms. P.Prathiba – M.C.A, Kasthurba Degree & PG College for Women
Mr. V.Naveen Kumar _ M.Sc (Maths), Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy College, Bhongir
Mr. Arshiya Shahana – B.Ed, L.B. College for Education, Warangal
Ms.B.Sunitha – M.Ed, L.B. College for Education, Warangal.

Rolling Shields were also awarded to colleges for distinction in Cultural activities. The Laxmi Bai Shankarji Memorial Shield for performing Arts and Fine Arts, Sponsored by Sri Surenderji and family, was won by Kasthurba Gandhi Degree & P.G. College for women, Secunderabad, for overall excellence in cultural activities.

The Depala Ramakrishna rao Memorial Rolling Shield for excellence in Inter-Collegiate Cultural competitions in urban areas, was bagged by S.N.Vanitha Pharmacy Maha Vidyalaya, while the Depala Ramakrishna Rao Memorial Rolling Shield for excellence in Folk Music & Dance in rural areas (both sponsored by Smt.Depala Sulochana Devi & Family members) was won by Lal Bahadur College, Warangal.